Home > Community, SQL, SQLSaturday > Slip Sliding Away

Slip Sliding Away

Time is creeping away from me these days.  I’ve had some major life changes in the last year and while I’m not going to air those here, I’ve at times felt it was all I could do to keep up with my day job, community responsibilities, and all those things that must be done to keep life rolling.  Needless to say, keeping up with this blog has been at the end of my long list of high priorities while I’ve attempted to find my new rhythm.  I think (hope) that I’m back to a place that will allow me to keep this semi-regularly updated from here on out.

Here goes nothing!

While I was away I managed to pack in Summit 2011, SQL Saturday 104, and SQL Saturday 109 as well as an ERP Vendor Shootout.

I’m not going to spend time trying to summarize my experiances at Summit and SQL Saturday 104 – It’s been too long, and I certainly wont’ do justice to either.  You should know that Summit 2011 was one of the best yet  – every year Summit gets better and better.  SQL Saturday 104 was great as well.  I delivered a Backup Basics session to a great group of folks, and the organizers did a fantastic job doubling the size of their event (or did they triple it?) from the first year.  Colorado Springs will be an event I don’t plan on missing in the future – and you should make the effort to join them next year.

I will tell you a little bit about SQL Saturday 109 though.  I have to hand it to Mark Ginnenbaugh, Ross Mistry and their team of volunteers.  They put on a great show, with an all star cast of speakers for their inaugural event.  I believe the attendee count was right at 450, which is a feat in itself for the first SQL Saturday in Silicon Valley.  The session selection was top notch – in fact I had tough choices to make for each session slot, and really wished that sessions had been recorded for playback after the event.  I think the top session for me was Grant Babb’s session on Pro-I : open source security monitoring on SQL2008 because it was completely new material for me.  Don’t get me wrong – security isn’t a new concept for me, but I’d not considered what it would take to create a proactive monitoring system end to end using SQL Server and the work he and his team did is fascinating to me.  In fact I plan on sharing it with my co-workers this week as something to consider in our shop.

Other sessions I attended included Angel Abundez’s session on Reporting Services for mobile platforms, Wendy Pastrick’s Replication session, Denise McInerney’s session on Begin.. Commit, and Allan Hirt’s session on High Availability in 2012.  The day was rounded out with the Women in Tech lunch panel.  I had the pleasure of sitting on the panel with Wendy Pastrick (@wendy_dance), Jen Stirrup (@jenstirrup), and Nikila Srinivasan (@nikisrinivasan), moderated by Denise McInerney (@denisemc06).  We had a great discussion about why we keep talking about Women in Tech.  Both Jen and Nikila brought diversity and insights to the panel that we’ve not always had at previous SQL Saturday WIT events.

I’m still gathering my thoughts on the ERP Shootout – while it wasn’t really a SQL centric event in any way, the format was interesting and I can see a place for that type of event in our community – imagine if we had an event to see all of the 3 party packages for say, backups following the same scripts, using the same databases, on the same hardware, back to back.  Would that be valuable to you?  I could see how it would be if your company was in the process of evaluating toolsets.   I have more to say on the event in general and the format as well.

Categories: Community, SQL, SQLSaturday
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

