Home > SQL > Lessons learned: Filming video is hard work

Lessons learned: Filming video is hard work

Last week I headed to Tucson AZ to record 3 sessions for SSWUG.org and I learned a few things.

 

Lesson # 1:  Presenting for cameras is hard work!

Seriously, I’ve done a few SQLSaturdays where I’ve presented more than one session and those were tiring, but filming all day is something else.  Without an audience in front of you the impetus is all on you to keep the energy up.  I’m worried that I wasn’t able to do that towards the end of the day.  I had no idea it would be so exhausting.  It was fun though.  The folks at SSWUG took great care of me, and were fun to be around.

 

Lesson #2:  A 60 minute session in front of people != 60 minutes in front of a camera!

I knew that my sessions would go a bit more quickly with no interaction, but I had no idea how much more quickly..  I had done full run-thrus at home and the time was short – but I figured it was just because I was doing them at home.  I wound up having to create new demo’s and add even more info on site to meet my time obligations.  And that was after adding more slides prior to leaving Albuquerque.

 

Lesson #3:  Tucson is HOT in June!

I’ve spent time in Tucson previously.  In fact, up until last year I was in Tucson every February for at least a week if not two.  I’m not sure why it didn’t register with me that June would be significantly warmer than February, but it didn’t.  If you travel there in the summer be prepared for hot weather, and don’t forget the sunscreen.  The sun seems stronger in the desert, and I managed to deepen my tan on the little short walks I took while I was there.

 

Lesson #4:  Rent a car while in Tucson.

I opted not to rent a car for this trip and I wish I had.  Because of the way flights worked out I had quite a bit of down time even after working some long hours from the hotel.  There is a mall within walking distance, and there are restaurants close by, but I would have had more fun if I had been able to head down to 4th street for some live music, or even been able to drive around the mountains a bit.  The other thing I realized is that I prefer to be able to hit a grocery store while I travel.  I’m used to having fresh veggies, fruit, and greek yogurt every day and I just don’t feel the same eating out for every meal.  If\when I go back I will be sure to rent at least a small car so I can get to where I want to go when I want to go.

 

Lastly, the reason I was asked to film in the first place is for the upcoming SQL Server Disaster Prevention and Recovery event on June 17th.  I am presenting on Backup Basics, and I am planning on being available in the chat room for any questions.  See you then!

Categories: SQL
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

