Home > PASS, SQL, SQLSaturday, Uncategorized > SQL Saturday #73 in the mostly sunny state

SQL Saturday #73 in the mostly sunny state

I’m freshly home from SQL Saturday #73 in Orange County California and wanted to jot down some notes before they slip my mind.  These days it seems I’m just as much a forgetful DBA as I am a lonely DBA 🙂

Denny Cherry (t|b), Andrew Karcher (t|b) and the rest of the crew did a great job planning and organizing SQL Saturday #73.  In fact, the only piece of feedback I have for them is that they could have used more signs on campus to guide us all to the Technology building for the event. 

I presented first thing at 8:30, and had a good number of folks for my Help Desk to DBA in 60 talk.  When I started I had about 10 folks in the room, and a few more trickled in as I spoke so I would guess I had right around 15 attendees.  They had some good questions and seemed to enjoy the material I presented to them.  If you attended, please drop a comment or an email to me with feedback – it’s the only way I can improve what I do!

Next up I watched Denise McInerney (t|b) give her DBA as Protector of Data session.  She had one of the best explanations of the difference between NULL, ‘NULL’ and ” that I’ve seen.  If you have a chance to see this session I suggest you go.

Lynn Langit(t|b then presented on Azure and did a great job as usual.  I don’t have a business case to use Azure yet, but I do like to keep up on the changes so that I am at least aware of what my options are. 

During lunch Denise, Lynn, Diana Dee, and I were on a WIT panel discussing ways to encourage the next generation of girls to look at IT.  We had a great conversation with the audience and I even learned of some new tools I can use with my munchkin at home to get her started with programing.  I will have a separate post out soon with a run down of tools  and options.   While I am on the subject – if you are in SoCal and so inclined, Lynn is looking for teachers during May.  Check out all the details here.

After the lunch panel I took some time to decompress and network a bit with Juan Soto (t|b).  After talking to him I was convinced that his was the next session I should attend so I happily sat in the back of his Access and SQL Server tips and strategies session.  I know, I know – I’m a DBA – why an Access session?  Well, whether I like it or not I have to support Access creations from time to time.  Juan gave me some ideas on how to make the best out of the situation as well as some tips and tricks I can take back to work.

The last session of the day for me was Denny Cherry’s (t|b),  Index Internals talk.  This was a new deck for him, and he ripped through it – even with questions.  It worked out though, as he had plenty of time to answer questions at the end and dive a bit deeper into corruption and a few other things.

I watched the drawings then went on to join other speakers and others at the sparsely attended after party.  That’s something that I can’t really wrap my mind around – why don’t folks go to the after parties?  I see them as fantastic opportunities to continue networking, ask deeper questions, and get to know my peers; yet it seems that the vast majority of SQL Saturday attendees don’t go to them.

All in all, this was yet another great SQL Saturday to attend – I mean really, what could be better than a full day of free training and networking with other SQL geeks?  The big question now is where to next?

  1. Phil Helmer
    April 16, 2011 at 2:58 am

    Meredith, it was a pleasure meeting you last week. In fact, finding out that you traveled 2 states over to get to this event has inspired me to attend SQL Saturday #64 in Baton Rouge. Ok, so I have family in the area, I was not thinking about attending a week ago.

    Cheers!

  2. April 16, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Phil, it was great meeting you and everyone else in Orange County! Have fun in Baton Rouge, and maybe I will see you there 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

