Home > Community, PASS, SQLSaturday, Uncategorized > If I can submit to speak so can you

If I can submit to speak so can you

I just submitted a session for the next 24 Hours of PASS.  The event is taking place March 15-16 2011 and PASS is honoring National Women in History month by featuring 24 female speakers. 

 This is big for me.  I’ve spoken at a few SQL Saturday events, moderated and participated in panel discussions and even presented a lightening talk at PASS Summit 2010; but 24HOP is a whole different ball game in my mind.  The pressure is greater because I know that the potential for the audience to be large is there, and honestly I’m a bit concerned by not having the feedback from the audience that you get from presenting in person.  I have also tended towards professional development topics and not highly technical presentations.  For whatever reason Prof Dev seems easier to me, most likely because professional development concerns and issues have no absolutely correct answer.  There’s no BOL to refer to, just what has worked for me in the past and what might work for you in the future.   With that in mind the abstract I submitted is not what I think of as a highly technical abstract, nor is it all professional dev either.  I think I found a happy medium for now and I just closed my eyes and hit the send button in Outlook.

The other thought that keeps circling through my mind about this is that I can’t compete with some of the WIT superstars that I suspect will be submitting.  And, you know what?  I think it finally sunk in that I’m not competing with them.  Over and over again I have been told (by more folks than I can list here) that someone, somewhere wants to know what I have to say, and will find my delivery and my message compelling.  That was very hard for me to internalize because I know that I’m not an expert in any single area of SQL Server.  The only place I can come close to claiming expert status is in knowing how to meet the needs of the business I work for – and even that is a moving target. 

So, my lesson to you in all of this is that if I can drum up the gumption to submit an abstract to 24 Hours of PASS then so can you.  At the very least you can submit to a SQL Saturday or Local Chapter near you.  To find a SQL Saturday near you just hit the SQL Saturday Home Page, or check out Aaron Nelson’s super cool SQL Saturday Map.  If submitting to 24 Hours of PASS peaks your interest submission guidelines are available in the most recent CommunityConnector.

  1. December 7, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Thanks for this encouraging post! I may be submitting to the Boston SQL Saturday. I’m giving the presentation internally at my company and if it goes well then I guess SQL Saturday is the next step. I’m trying to focus on presenting about issues I have to deal with. I guess if it is something I need to deal with so do other folks.

    • December 7, 2010 at 10:26 pm

      My pleasure. You should submit to SQL Saturday Boston – what’s the worst that can happen?

      • December 8, 2010 at 7:26 am

        I’m leaning towards submitting. I guess we’ll see. Thanks again for the encouragement! Looking forward to your next post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

