Home > Uncategorized > Post SQL Install checklist

Post SQL Install checklist

I’m finding myself in an uncomfortable (for me) situation these days.  I have SQL servers being built and configured on my network with out my input or assistance and there’s not much I can do about it – other than wait for the VAR to be finished and give me access to the boxes.

To prep for that day I’ve started documenting all those things that I generally do as part of my installation process, but will now have to do after the fact.  This list is by no means complete, nor in a particular order – and really a reminder for myself, but hopefully it will help some of you as well.

1.  Alerts for severity 16-25, errors 823, 824, 825

2.  Operators

3.  DB Mail

4.  Backups

5.  Index maintenance

6.  Check DB scheduled

7.  STATs maintenance

8.   Check permissions for ‘Perform vol Maintenance tasks’

9.  PageFile Size

10.  Check Memory configs

11. Default file paths for DB’s

12.  Check model db configs

13.  Create DBA database

14.  Install SP_whoisactive

15.  Install & run SP_Blitz

16.  Check TEMP db setup – how many files, autogrowth, etc

Edited 12/5/12

17.  Verify windows power management settings

18. Verify SQL Agent is mail enabled

 

I will continue to add to this list as I think of things.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 5, 2012 at 2:37 pm | #1

    You may do this as part of steps 1-3, but also check to make sure SQL Agent has Enable Mail Profile checked (requires Agent restart) so it can use DB mail to send alerts. I also verify the Windows power management setting is set to High Performance and Optimize for Ad Hoc Queries is on.

  2. December 5, 2012 at 3:06 pm | #2

    Great points Shaun! I do make sure that the Agent is mail enabled as part of setting up DBmail, but had spaced the windows power management settings when creating this list.
    I will edit the list to include both specifically.

    Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,088 other followers

